Robbie Dickson

Robbie Dickson est un ingénieur, un entrepreneur et un écrivain qui a travaillé avec de nombreux équipementiers automobiles et aéronautiques pour développer de nouveaux produits à commercialiser. Il est un ingénieur en mécanique et robotique chevronné avec un accent sur la technologie. Il a également inventé de nombreux nouveaux produits et surtout les a mis sur le marché. FIRGELLI® est considérée comme l'une de ses principales entreprises de bébé qui englobe toutes les disciplines d'ingénierie qu'il aime (robotique, mécanique et électronique)

À l'extérieur ou à l'ingénierie Robbie a poursuivi sa passion pour la course automobile en travaillant avec les légendes de la course Jacques Villeneuve, pour créer un circuit situé à Oliver BC, Canada, nommé Area-27. L'hippodrome aa revigoré l'industrie de la course canadienne, et la piste a été présentée à plusieurs reprises à la télévision, y compris le succès automobile de Jeremy Clarkson, The Grand Tour, produit par Amazon.

Robbie Dickson

Robbie est né au Royaume-Uni où, enfant, il a regardé le film Cannonball Run, et est immédiatement devenu fasciné par les super voitures et continue cette fascination à ce jour grâce à son implication dans le Diamond Rally, le Luxury Supercar Weekend à Vancouver au Canada et le sien. collection de voitures. Il a poursuivi sa passion en ingénierie et a finalement obtenu un diplôme en génie mécanique et aéronautique de l'Université du Pays de Galles. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, il a occupé divers postes d'ingénierie pour des entreprises telles que Rolls-Royce, BMW et Ford.

Robbie est devenu connu pour repousser les limites en essayant constamment de briser les limites de vitesse qu'il s'était fixées. Au début de 2000, il a participé à l'épreuve Race the Base à Cold Lake, en Alberta. Là, il a parcouru 326 km / h (202,5 ​​mph) dans sa Lamborghini Aventador. Cela a conduit à presque éviter un accident alors que sa voiture devenait incontrôlable. À ce stade, Dickson s'est rendu compte qu'il avait besoin d'un système de freinage plus efficace que les freins hydrauliques de série dans la plupart des super-voitures.

En tant qu'ingénieur de formation, il a commencé à examiner les systèmes de freinage d'autres véhicules rapides tels que les avions. Ceux-ci reposaient sur des systèmes de freinage à air comprimé qui sont beaucoup plus efficaces à des vitesses plus élevées pour créer une réduction de vitesse car ils ne nécessitent pas une technologie de freinage par friction qui est très inefficace à des vitesses plus élevées. Il a ensuite inventé le système de freinage pneumatique utilisé aujourd'hui pour les supercars qui utilisent maintenant la conception comme un système de freinage auxiliaire appliqué lorsque des vitesses supérieures à 100 km / h sont atteintes et que le freinage brutal est appliqué.

Rédacteur Iconic Concierge Magazine

Robbie a été le rédacteur automobile en chef du Magazine emblématique de la conciergerie depuis 2016. Le magazine trimestriel de style de vie de luxe présente les dernières nouvelles en matière de voitures, de technologie, de voyages et de nourriture. Robbie a fait la couverture de la première édition du magazine à l'été 2016 aux côtés de sa McLaren à l'époque.

Rédacteur du magazine Robbie Dickson

Zone 27 et course Cannonball
L'amour de Dickson pour le film Cannonball Run l'a inspiré à faire équipe avec Bill Dorosso et la légende canadienne de la F1 Jacques Villeneuve pour créer le premier et le seul hippodrome de grande taille au Canada, Area-27. La piste tire son nom du numéro de course de Jacques. Présentée à plusieurs reprises à la télévision, la piste est un club réservé aux membres privés qui est actuellement à 100% complet et entièrement utilisé.

L'équipe Area-27 a négocié avec la bande indienne d'Osoyoos un bail foncier très long pour créer la piste de 4,9 km et la piste de karting et le grand clubhouse. Des engins de terrassement guidés par GPS ont tracé le tracé de la piste et 12 139 pieds de béton ont été utilisés sur la piste et ses barrières. Un mélange spécial d'asphalte a été fait pour résister à la chaleur de la région.

Diamond Rally

Dickson a également créé un certain nombre de rallyes automobiles de luxe axés sur l’automobile qui envoient les conducteurs dans toute la campagne canadienne pour le pur plaisir de conduire, y compris la co-fondation du Canadian Bullrun Rally, une tournée de sept jours dans les Rocheuses pour les propriétaires de voitures de luxe. Il a également cofondé le Diamond Rally annuel, un rallye caritatif sur invitation de 200 supercars, le plus grand rallye Supercar en Amérique du Nord, parrainé par Hublot Vancouver l’une des autres entreprises de Dickson. Le rallye recueille des fonds pour des dizaines d’organismes de bienfaisance et va de Vancouver à Whistler et l’Okanagan par la route Sea-to-Sky.

Capital-risque
Dickson a fourni des conseils et un soutien financier à de nombreuses entreprises. C’est un investisseur providentiel, qui croit en un avenir de technologies propres et ne travaille qu’avec des entreprises respectueuses de l’environnement et qui croient en un avenir zéro émission. Il a soutenu plusieurs autres entreprises qui créent la technologie Dickson croit aura une application pratique à l’avenir.

Vie personnelle
Dickson est un collectionneur de voitures passionné, et a possédé des centaines d’automobiles dans sa vie. Il est très actif dans le monde de l’automobile localement et dans le monde entier en travaillant avec divers OEM résoudre les défis d’ingénierie qu’ils font face en ce qui concerne le contrôle des mouvements pour diverses applications qui utilisent parfois la technologie Robbie inventé ou créé lui-même. McLaren est l’une de ses marques préférées et après avoir possédé de nombreuses supercars McLaren lui-même, il a aidé l’équipe d’ingénierie à créer l’aspect de contrôle de mouvement de leurs ailes réglables et diffuseurs.

Pour suivre Robbie Dickson ci-dessous sont des liens vers ses pages personnelles de médias sociaux

Instagram

Facebook

 

 

 

 

 

Linear Actuators 101 - Everything You Need to Know About Linear Actuators

This article will give you a basic understanding of how actuators work and the terminology used to describe them.

How Do You Control a Linear Actuator with an Arduino?

An Arduino is an open source electronics prototyping platform based on flexible, easy-to-use hardware and software. It's intended for DIY projects, artists, designers, hobbyists, and anyone interested in creating interactive projects.

How Do You Control a Linear Actuator with an Arduino?

An Arduino is an open source electronics prototyping platform based on flexible, easy-to-use hardware and software. It's intended for DIY projects, artists, designers,...

What are the Different Types of Drawer Slides?

There are many different types of drawer slides available on the market for, some are a very simple Ikea single wheel cheap and cheerful style,...

How to Build a TV Lift Cabinet

Want to make the perfect TV Lift Cabinet? Have you found the perfect spot for your TV but don't want it showing all the time?...

Top 10 Custom Projects You Can Do With Linear Actuators

Do it yourself projects are taking America by storm with 57% of homeowners feeling their homes are a work in progress. Fueled by social media and a...

Besoin d'aide pour trouver le bon actionneur?

Nous concevons et fabriquons nos produits de précision afin que vous obteniez les prix directs des fabricants. Nous offrons une livraison le jour même et un support client compétent. Essayez d'utiliser notre calculateur d'actionneurs pour obtenir de l'aide pour choisir l'actionneur adapté à votre application.

Robbie Dickson

Robbie Dickson is an engineer, entrepreneur, and writer who has worked with many Automotive and Aeronautical OEM's developing new products for commercialization. He is a seasoned Mechanical and Robotics Engineers with an emphasis on technology. He has also invented many new products and more importantly brought them to market. FIRGELLI® is considered to be one of his main baby companies that encompasses all the Engineering disciplines he enjoys (Robotics, Mechanics, and Electronics)  

Outside of Engineering, Robbie has pursued his passion for Motor racing by working with racing legend Jacques Villeneuve to create a racetrack located in Oliver, BC, Canada, named Area-27. The Racetrack has invigorated the Canadian racing industry, and the track has been featured numerous times on TV including Jeremy Clarkson's motoring hit The Grand Tour produced by Amazon. 

Robbie Dickson, Founder, Firgelli Automations

Robbie was born in the United Kingdom where as a child he watched the movie Cannonball Run, and immediately became fascinated with super cars and continues that fascination to this day through his involvement with the Diamond Rally, Luxury Supercar Weekend in Vancouver Canada, and his own car collection. He went on to pursue his passion in Engineering and eventually graduated with a degree in both Mechanical and Aeronautical engineering from the University of Wales. Upon graduating he worked in various engineering positions for companies including Rolls-Royce, BMW, and Ford.

Robbie became known for pushing the limits by constantly trying to break speed limits he set for himself. In early 2000 he competed in the Race the Base Event in Cold Lake Alberta. There he went 326 km/h (202.5 mph) in his Lamborghini Aventador. This led to nearly avoiding a crash as his car spun out of control. At this point Dickson realized he needed a more efficient braking system than the hydraulic brakes that came standard in most super-cars.

Being an engineer by trade he started to examine the braking systems of other fast moving vehicles such as Aircraft. These rely on airbrake systems that are far more efficient at higher speeds to create speed reduction, since they do not require a frictional breaking technology that becomes very inefficient at higher speeds. He then went on to invent the Air braking system used today for supercars that utilize the design as an auxiliary braking system when speeds are greater than 100 km/h and hard breaking is applied.  

Writer Iconic Concierge magazine

Robbie has been the chief Automotive writer for the Iconic Concierge magazine since 2016. The quarterly luxury lifestyle magazine features the latest in Cars, technology, travel and food. Robbie was featured on the cover of the first magazine edition in the summer of 2016 alongside his McLaren at the time. 

Robbie Dickson magazine writer

Area 27 and Cannonball Run
Dickson's love of the film Cannonball Run inspired him to team up with Bill Dorosso and the Canadian F1 legend Jacques Villeneuve to create Canada's first and only full sized racetrack, Area-27. The track derived its name from Jacques' racing number. Featured many times on TV the track is a private members only club that is currently 100% sold out and fully utilized. 

The Area-27 team negotiated with the Osoyoos Indian Band for a very long land lease to create the 4.9 km track and go-kart track and Large Clubhouse. GPS guided earth movers traced the layout of the track, and 12,139 feet of concrete was used on the track and its barriers. A special blend of asphalt was made to withstand the heat of the region.

Diamond Rally

Dickson also created a number of luxury automotive charity driven car rallies that send drivers throughout Canadian countryside for the sheer joy of driving, including co-founding the Canadian Bullrun Rally, a seven-day tour of the Rocky Mountains for luxury car owners. He also co-founded the annual Diamond Rally, an invite-only charity rally of 200 supercars, the largest Supercar rally in North America, sponsored by Hublot Vancouver one of Dickson's other ventures. The rally raises money for dozens of charities and runs from Vancouver to Whistler and the Okanagan via the Sea-to-Sky Highway.

Venture capitalist
Dickson has provided the guidance and financial backing for numerous businesses. He is an angel investor, who believes in a clean-tech future and only works with companies that are environmentally friendly and believe in a zero-emission future. He has backed several other companies that create technology Dickson believes will have a practical application in the future.

Personal life
Dickson is an avid car collector, and has owned hundreds of automobiles in his lifetime. He is very active in the Automotive world locally and around the world working with various OEM's solve engineering challenges they face with respect to motion control for various applications that sometimes utilize the technology Robbie invented or created himself. McLaren is one of his favorite brands and having owned many McLaren supercars himself he helped the engineering team create the motion control aspect of their adjustable wings and diffusers. 

To follow Robbie Dickson below are links to his personal social media pages

Instagram

Facebook

 

 

 

 

 

Need Help Finding the Right Actuator?

We precision engineer and manufacture our products so you get direct manufacturers pricing. We offer same day shipping and knowledgeable customer support. Try using our Actuator Calculator to get help picking the right actuator for your application.