促動器101.什麼是促動器,它們是做什麼的,它們是如何工作的。

什麼是執行器 氣動執行器 液壓起子機 旋轉執行器 電動直線執行器

致動器是一種設備,需要能量輸入通常為電能,以某種形式輸入外部信號以告知致動器要做什麼,然後該設備才能致動。運動形式的輸出可以是旋轉的也可以是線性的,用於在系統中實現所需的結果。

術語“致動器”來自致動某物的行為,換句話說,致動就是操縱某物。因此,為了簡化其工作的表達方式,執行器讀取信號,然後執行操作。致動器通常是整個系統或機器或設備的一部分。它是機器中的一個組件,通過移動它來執行某些操作。

作動器101是什麼作動器

為了使執行器工作,需要能量輸入,通常是電能。它還需要某種形式的外部信號輸入以告知執行器要做什麼,然後裝置才能執行。輸出通常採用旋轉或線性運動的形式,用於在系統中實現所需的結果。

執行器的歷史

執行器已經存在了100多年,他們的名字來自於他們所做的事情,他們致動某些東西。也就是說,它們通過打開或關閉,推動或拉動,抬起或放下等動作來移動。您每天使用的最常見的執行器類型是電磁執行器,用於鎖定和解鎖車門, 電動直線執行器 用於打開和關閉汽車後備箱。這些是非常常見的機電執行器,在我們的日常生活中廣泛使用。在創建電力之前,它們仍然可以製造,但是將由人為控制,例如門上的閂鎖。

執行器在哪裡使用?

現代汽車中使用了50多個執行器,汽車可能是我們日常生活中使用最多的執行器。汽車將它們用於噴油器,用於燃料供應和管理的閥門,加熱和冷卻系統,甚至娛樂系統也可以使用它們來打開和關閉揚聲器,GPS屏幕等。

致動器101-什麼是致動器及其工作方式

什麼是執行器

讓我們看一下我們日常生活中使用的執行器系統的典型示例。汽車中的供暖系統既有冷熱溫度設置,也有具有不同作用力水平的風扇。溫度設置實際上是通過執行器控制的,該執行器調節在熱交換器上流動的空氣量。該致動器控制氣流位置,空氣越越越越越熱,相反,空氣越遠離熱交換器越冷。

汽車執行器

繼電器是致動器嗎?

一個 中繼 有時也被認為是電致動器的一種形式,即繼電器致動電信號或某種類型的連接。即使這聽起來像是沒有活動部件的電氣部件,但實際上確實有活動部件。繼電器是一個帶電線圈,通過電磁場打開和關閉連接器。因此,正如您所看到的,它只是一種小規模的執行器。

就本文而言,我們將重點放在線性執行器上。執行器一詞實際上是非常廣泛的,可以涵蓋旋轉執行器,電磁閥和其他類型。

執行器

電磁執行器

堅持使用汽車,這些讓我們解釋另一種非常常見的執行器類型,即電磁執行器。螺線管就像繼電器一樣工作,它們吸收電流並產生電磁場,該電磁場的磁力隨後使桿進出。通常,提供給螺線管執行器的磁場越高,產生的力就越大,反之亦然。這些是非常簡單的開/關型執行器,除了打開或關閉它們外,幾乎沒有其他控制選擇。例如,您對速度或力沒有真正的控制,實際上,更糟的是,電磁執行器的行程也非常有限。很難找到行程超過2英寸(英寸)的螺線管執行器。

電磁執行器

車門上的中央鎖是最常用的電磁執行器。他們只是簡單地從門把手上連接和斷開閂鎖。對於螺線管執行器來說,控制機制也非常簡單,這是向螺線管發送一個12v直流電的單脈衝以對其進行驅動,而彈簧使它返回。

下面是大多數汽車中使用的典型電磁執行器。他們可能看起來很陌生,但這是因為大多數人看不到汽車的門板。

執行器類型

壓電執行器

這些執行器的運動來自電壓激勵,它們需要非常大的電壓才能使其膨脹和收縮,通常超過200V。壓電材料是一種陶瓷,非常易碎,在每一層之間將有許多層帶有金屬板的層,因此每個壓電疊層都可以通電。

長度的很小變化需要大量的電壓,通常壓電只膨脹其大小的1%,但是它們的作用力非常大,這意味著您可以放大壓電疊層的擴展來獲得移動和權衡中風的力量。機械放大幾乎可以像槓桿一樣完成,但是它們通常用於需要非常高的精度和控制力的應用中。它們最常用作汽車的噴油器,其中壓電執行器控制進入氣缸的燃油量,並且控制水平必須降至微米水平。

壓電執行器

氣動執行器

這些類型的執行器使用高壓泵產生的氣缸中的壓縮氣體或空氣來移動活塞以產生線性運動。像液壓執行器一樣,氣動線性執行器的設計已經存在了很長時間。空氣壓縮機用於對罐中的空氣或惰性氣體加壓,而高壓空氣用於使執行器活塞滑入和滑出。一旦執行器中的活塞到達行程末端,然後移動閥開關以將閥打開到執行器的另一端,然後高壓空氣再次將活塞朝另一個方向推向執行器。

氣動執行器

使用氣動的好處是:

  1. 高速是可能的,並由壓力閥和系統的容積控制
  2. 可以達到相當高的力量
  3. 除了泵需要補充高壓油箱外,幾乎沒有發出聲音
  4. 可能會產生很長的行程
  5. 極高的循環可靠性和耐用性。
  6. 致動器實際上可以非常小並且尺寸緊湊,因為它們的構造非常簡單。

氣動執行器的缺點:

  1. 需要其他設備,例如油箱和高壓泵
  2. 整個系統不能被允許洩漏的系統
  3. 空氣是可壓縮的氣體,因此,這意味著氣動致動器正在移動較大的力,因此總會出現滯後,因為氣體在將活塞移動到致動器內部之前首先會自然壓縮。這意味著系統中將存在滯後。液壓執行器解決了這個問題
  4. 可以實現非常低的位置控制。觀看下面的視頻,其中我們使用Lego來演示與機械執行器相比缺乏控制,並使用DTI(撥號測試指示器)來顯示差異

氣動執行器在哪裡使用?

它們用於需要高速運動或需要快速覆蓋大量線性距離的地方,例如每秒英寸或每秒30英寸。一旦安裝,它們很難從一個地方移動到另一個地方,因為它們確實需要大量的安裝時間。這些執行器可在製造工廠的裝配線上找到,因為它們是無需維護即可執行數百萬次循環的理想選擇,並且它們可以快速移動。

液壓執行器

液壓執行器的操作方式與氣動執行器完全相同,不同之處在於,它們使用不可壓縮的液體(稱為液壓液)代替使用高壓空氣或氣體。由於流體不可壓縮,因此具有巨大的主要優勢,這些系統具有強大的力量,這就是為什麼您看到它們專門用於重型建築設備,挖掘機,自卸車,叉車,拖拉機等的原因。

液壓執行器

液壓執行器如何工作?

液壓執行器使用高壓流體來回推動活塞,在通過閥開關進行轉換的地方。 Ť這些系統需要高壓泵,高壓閥和管道,以及用於容納所有液壓油的油箱。因此,如果您有很多空間和金錢並且需要非常大的力,則液壓可能是最重要的。要走的路。

使用液壓執行器的好處是:

  1. 中等速度是可能的,並由泵速控制。
  2. 可以達到極高的作用力
  3. 可能會產生很長的行程
  4. 極高的循環可靠性和耐用性。
  5. 致動器實際上可以非常小並且尺寸緊湊,因為它們的構造非常簡單。

液壓執行器的缺點:

  1. 從操作的角度來看,使用液壓系統存在弊端。主要的是控制。對於這些系統,您幾乎沒有精度控制。
  2. 系統需要液壓油才能工作,如果液壓油洩漏,則可能劇毒
  3. 液壓泵運行時可能會很嘈雜,所需的力越大,噪音就越大
  4. 液壓油的粘度很低,因此不能順利地通過管道和閥門等流動,這都需要能量才能將高壓下的所有流體推過所有這些管道和配件等。因此,液壓系統的運行效率非常低和使用。
  5. 這些系統的購買和安裝成本很高。

旋轉執行器

旋轉執行器是產生旋轉運動的執行器,使其非常適合於打開和關閉閥門。存在多種不同的方式來產生旋轉運動,從而產生旋轉致動器。不同之處在於應用程序的形式。例如,在上面的圖片中,您可以看到通過齒輪齒條式運動創建了旋轉運動,其中“齒條”被控制為活塞。活塞可以液壓控制,也可以使用高壓空氣和氣體進行氣動控制。那有什麼區別呢?如果上面的旋轉執行器是液壓控制的,那麼施加的力可能很大,因此當需要大的力來打開和關閉閥門時,這將適合工業應用。如果該旋轉致動器是氣動控制的,則致動器可能需要較小的力來旋轉主軸,這將用於執行所需的任務。

旋轉執行器

旋轉執行器原理

旋轉致動器產生的運動可以是連續旋轉(如在電動機中看到的),也可以是固定角度旋轉。使用氣動或液壓控制的旋轉執行器,它們更可能是固定角度旋轉類型,這是因為旋轉主軸的齒條或活塞只能移動那麼遠,因此旋轉運動受到可用線性衝程的限制。如果需要更多的旋轉,則活塞需要進一步滑動,或者使用不同的齒輪比來產生運動。

旋轉執行器齒輪比

伺服旋轉執行器

旋轉致動器的另一種類型是伺服電動機和步進電動機。這些是電控執行器,具有恆定的旋轉運動,但也提供非常精確的旋轉控制。

伺服旋轉執行器

這些類型的致動器通常用於機器人技術和消費類電子產品,在這些產品中,旋轉運動和扭矩是由旋轉電機產生的,通過某些齒輪,速度會降低,扭矩會增加,從而產生旋轉運動。為了獲得精確控制,執行器將具有一個測量位置的傳感器。通常採用霍爾傳感器或編碼器的形式,該傳感器將信號發送回控制系統,並轉換為位置。伺服電機的一大特點是它們可以做得很小,可以在非常狹窄的地方使用。

將伺服執行器電機的旋轉運動轉換為線性運動

 將伺服電機的旋轉運動轉換為線性運動

因為旋轉伺服致動器是如此普遍地使用並且購買起來相對便宜,所以它已經成為人們產生線性運動的流行方式。通過簡單的連接和某種形式的線性導向系統,可以產生線性運動。如上圖所示,產生的衝程將與槓桿臂的長度成正比。臂距伺服致動器的時間越長,衝程將越長,但是不利的一面是,由於扭矩與臂長成正比,因此力會減小。

旋轉執行器的以下扭矩方程式

旋轉執行器的扭矩方程

機電線性執行器。

使用電動直線執行器,交流或直流電動機的旋轉運動通過絲槓轉換為直線運動。絲槓基本上是在桿上加工的斜齒輪。當由於電機直接或通過某些齒輪旋轉絲槓而導致絲槓旋轉時,螺母(如下黃色所示)以線性運動的方式上下滑動絲槓並產生線性運動-故名“線性致動器”。這與仍然是線性致動器的一種形式的螺線管致動器有很大不同,但是在工程行業中,工程師通常通過將二者稱為``電磁致動器''和``線性致動器''來區分兩者,即使兩者都輸出線性運動。

線性執行器一種執行器

使用電動直線執行器時,具有不同長度的絲槓可提供不同的行程長度。從電動機更快或更慢地轉動絲槓會產生不同的速度線性衝程。因此,來自電機的力施加到絲槓上的力越大,施加於絲槓上下滑動的螺母的力就越大。螺母被連接到我們稱為桿的桿上,而該桿即您要固定物體以產生線性運動的桿。能夠施加到絲槓上的扭矩越大,則滑動桿可使用的線性力就越大。

有多種產生執行器扭矩的方法。在電動機和絲槓之間增加齒輪是最常見的方法,齒輪比越高,產生的力就越大,但是需要權衡取捨,力越大,速度越低,反之,速度越高。降低力量。對於給定的力,要獲得額外的速度,就意味著必須使用更大的輸入電動機,這需要更多的電流和更大的電動機,因此需要更多的錢。

電動直線執行器

電動 執行器 是一種將電動機的旋轉運動轉換為線性運動,或吸收電流以產生電磁場並利用磁力迫使金屬物體移開其磁場的裝置。兩者雖然有很大的不同,但是它們使用相同的名稱,並且都導致其名稱所暗示的內容……它們被激活。這意味著它們都以線性或旋轉運動提供推和拉運動。

要詳細了解電動線性執行器的工作原理,我們創建了本文“線性執行器內部-執行器如何工作"

如果您要購買電動線性執行器,我們創建了一篇名為“在閱讀以下5個步驟之前,請不要使用線性促動器”可以幫助您在花任何錢之前避免一些常見問題。

微型線性執行器

微型執行器

 微型執行器或微型線性執行器用於空間有限或所需執行器行程較小的應用中。也許您需要移動很小或不太遠的東西,否則微型線性執行器將是此類應用的理想選擇。通常,微型執行器的行程為10mm至100mm,尺寸非常緊湊。微型執行器的缺點之一是,由於內置的電機較小,其作用力往往要小得多。

讓我們總結一下什麼是執行器?

執行器有許多不同的形式,從旋轉到線性,所需的類型取決於它們要用於的應用。液壓驅動的大型工業旋轉執行器非常適合打開大型油管閥和 微型執行器 可以使用小型12v電源為機器人技術和小型應用提供高精度和高精度的電源。

機電線性執行器

 

 

需要幫助找到合適的執行器?

我們精密設計和製造我們的產品,以便您直接獲得製造商的價格。我們提供當日發貨和專業的客戶支持。嘗試使用我們的執行器計算器來獲得幫助,為您的應用選擇合適的執行器。

Actuators 101: What is an Actuator, What Do They Do, and How Do They Work?

What is an Actuator Pneumatic Actuators Hydraulic Actautors Rotary Actuators Electric Linear Actuators

An Actuator is a device that requires an energy source input usually electrical energy, an external signal input in some form to tell the actuator what to do, and then the device actuates. The output in the form of a motion, can be either rotary or linear, and is used to achieve a desired outcome in a system.

The term Actuator comes from the act of Actuating something, in other words to Actuate is to operate something.  So to simplify the expression of what it does, an actuator reads a signal and then it actuates, or it operates. Actuators are typically part of an overall system or machine or device. It is a component within that machine that does something by making it move. 

Actuators 101 what is an actuator

For an actuator to work it requires an energy source input, usually electrical energy. It also requires an external signal input in some form to tell the actuator what to do, and then the device Actuates.  The output is usually in the form of a motion that can be either Rotary or Linear that's used to achieve the desired outcome in a system. 

History of Actuators

Actuators have been around for over a 100 years and their name came from what they do, they Actuate something. That is they move something by opening or closing, pushing or pulling, lifting or dropping etc. The most common type of actuator that you use every day is the solenoid actuator to lock and unlock your car door, or an electric linear actuator used to open and close the trunk in a car. Those are very common type of Electro-mechanical actuators that are used extensively in our daily lives. Before electricity was created they were still made but would be human controlled, such as a latch on a door.

Where are Actuators used?

There are over 50 Actuators used in a modern car, auto's probably have the most actuators we would use as part of our daily lives. A car uses them in the fuel injectors, valves for the fuel supply and management, heating and cooling systems, even the entertainment systems can use them to open and close speakers, GPS screens and so on.

Actuators 101 - What is an actuator and how does it work

what is an actuator

Let's look at a typical example of an actuator system used in our every day lives. The heating in a car has both a hot and cold temperature settings, as well as a fan with different force levels. The temperature setting is actually controlled by an actuator that regulates how much air flows over a heat exchanger. That actuator controls the air flow position, the more it flows over the heat exchanger the hotter the air is, conversely, the further away it is from the heat exchanger the cooler it is. 

actuators in cars

Is a Relay an Actuator?

A Relay is also sometimes considered to be a form of Electrical Actuator, meaning the relay actuates and electrical signal or connection.  Even though this may sound like an electrical component with no moving parts, it actually does have a moving component to it. A relay is a magnetically charged coil that opens and closes a connector via an electro-magnetic field. So, technically, it is a form of actuator, just on a small scale.

For the purpose of this article, we will focus more on Linear Actuators. This example is intended to illustrate how the term "Actuators" is actually very broad and can also cover Rotary Actuators, Solenoids, and other types too. 

actuators

Solenoid Actuators

Sticking with the Automotive, let's explore another very common actuator type, and that is the Solenoid Actuator. Solenoids work like a relay, they take in an electrical current and create an electro-magnetic field, its that magnetic force that then makes a rod move in and out. Typically, the higher the magnetic field that's supplied to the solenoid actuator, the more force it creates, and visa-versa. These are very simple on/off type actuators, which means very few control options. For example, solenoid actuators have no real control over speed or force, and also a very limited stroke length. It is rare to find a solenoid Actuator with more than 2" (inches) of stroke.

solenoid actuators

The central locking on car doors are the most common types of solenoid Actuator used. they simply connect and disconnect the latch from the door handle. The control mechanism is also very simple; a single pulse of 12v DC electricity is sent to the solenoid to actuate it, and a spring is what makes it return.

Below is a typical solenoid actuator, as used in most cars. If they look unfamiliar, it's because most people don't see inside the door panels of a car. 

type of actuator

Piezo Actuators

These actuators movement comes from being energized by voltage and they require very large voltages to make them expand and contract, typically over 200V. The Piezo material is a type of ceramic, it is very brittle and will have many layers with metal plates between each layer so each piezo stack gets energized.

Large amounts of voltage is required for very small change in length, typically a Piezo will only expand by about 1% of it size, but their force is very high, this means that you can amplify the expansion of the Piezo stacks to get more movement, but trading force for distance. The amplification could be done mechanically, such as with a lever, but Piezos are typically used in applications where you need very high precision and control. They are most commonly used as fuel injectors for cars, where the Piezo actuator controls the fuel volume entering the cylinder; where the control level needs to be down to the microns (one millionth of a meter). 

Piezo Actuators

Pneumatic Actuators

These types of actuators use pressurized gas or air in a cylinder created my a high-pressure pump to move a piston to create linear motion. Like hydraulic actuators, the design of pneumatic linear actuator has been around for a long time. An air compressor is used to pressurize the air or inert gas in a tank, and that high pressure air is used to make the actuators piston slide in and out. Once the piston in the actuator has reached the end of the travel, a valve switch is then moved to open the valve to the other end of the actuator where again high-pressure air then pushes the piston in the actuator the other direction. 

Pneumatic actuators

Benefits of using pneumatics are:

  1. High speed is possible and is controlled by the pressure valve and volumetric capacity of the system.
  2. Fairly high forces can be achieved.
  3. Little sound is emitted apart from the pump pressurizing the tank.
  4. Very long strokes are possible.
  5. Extremely high cycle reliability and durability.
  6. The Actuators can actually be very small and compact in size since they are quite simple in construction. 

Drawbacks of pneumatic actuators:

  1. Additional equipment is required such as a tank and high-pressure pump.
  2. The entire system can not be allowed to leak of the system fails.
  3. Air is a compressible gas, meaning when a pneumatic actuator is moving a high force, there is always a lag because the gas/air will naturally compress first before it moves the piston inside the actuator. This means there will be a lag in the system. Hydraulic Actuators do not have this problem.
  4. Very low positional control is achievable. Watch the video below where we use Lego to demonstrate the lack of control compared to a mechanical Actuator, and using a DTI (Dial Test Indicator) to show the difference

Where are pneumatic actuators used?

They are used where high-speed motion is required, upwards of 30 inches per second. Once installed they are hard to move from one place to another as they require a lot of installation time. These Actuators are found on the assembly lines of manufacturing factories as they are ideal for performing millions of cycles with no maintenance, and they can move very quickly. 

Hydraulic Actuators

Hydraulic Actuators operate in exactly the same way as Pneumatic actuators, except instead of using high-pressure air or gas they use a non-compressible liquid called hydraulic fluid. Because the fluid is non-compressible it has a huge advantage over pneumatics, these systems are capable of immense forces. This is why you see them used exclusively on heavy duty construction equipment like diggers, dump trucks, forklifts trucks, tractors etc.

hydraulic Actuators

How do Hydraulic Actuator work?

Hydraulic Actuator use high-pressure fluid to push a piston backwards and forwards where the switching is done through valve switches. These systems require high-pressure pumps, high-pressure valves and piping, and a tank to hold hydraulic fluid in. So, if you have a lot of space and money and require a very high amount of force, hydraulics could be the way to go.

Benefits of using hydraulic actuators are:

  1. Moderate speed is possible and is controlled by the pump speed.
  2. Extremely high forces can be achieved. 
  3. Very long strokes are possible.
  4. Extremely high cycle reliability and durability.
  5. The Actuators can be very small and compact in size since they are quite simple in construction. 

Drawbacks of hydraulic actuators:

  1. Control. Hydraulic Actuators have very little precision control.
  2. Hydraulic fluid is required for the system to work, and the fluid is very toxic. If the system fails, it could leak.
  3. When the hydraulic pump is operating it can be very noisy, and the higher the required force, the louder the noise.
  4. Hydraulic fluid relies on predictable viscosity, so it does not flow smoothly through pipes and valves etc., this requires additional energy to push fluid at high pressure through pipes and fittings. As a result, hydraulic systems are very inefficient to operate and use, especially in a varying climate.
  5. Price. These systems are expensive to buy and install. 

Rotary Actuators

A rotary actuator is an actuator that produces a rotary (spinning) motion, which makes them ideally suited to opening and closing valves. There are many different ways to create rotary motion, and thus many ways to create a rotary Actuator. The differences come in from the type of application. For example; In the picture below you can see that rotary motion is being created by a rack-and-pinion style movement where the "rack" is being controlled as a piston. The piston can be either hydraulically controlled, or pneumatically controlled. So, what would the difference be? If the rotary actuator below is hydraulically controlled then the the forces exerted could be huge, which could suit industrial applications requiring large forces to open and close a valve. If this rotary actuator is pneumatically controlled, then the actuator may require less force to rotate the main shaft, which will, in turn, be used to perform the required tasks. 

rotary actuators

Rotary Actuator principle

The motion produced by a rotary actuator may be either continuous rotation, as seen in an electric motor, or movement could be a fixed angular rotation. With a rotary actuator that's pneumatically or hydraulically controlled they are more likely to be a fixed angular rotation type, this is because the rack or piston that rotates the main shaft can only move so far and so the rotational movement is restricted by the linear stroke available. If more rotation is required, the piston would need to slide further, and a different gear ratio is used to translate the motion. 

rotary actuator gear ratio

Servo Rotary Actuator

Another type of rotary actuator is a servo motor and stepper motor. These are electrically controlled actuators that have a constant rotational movement, and also offer very precise rotational control. 

Servo rotary Actuator

These types of actuator are commonly used in Robotics, and consumer electronics where rotational movement and torque is produced by a rotary motor. The speed is reduced and torque increased by a gear system to create the rotary motion. To get precise control, the actuator will have a sensor that measures position. This is usually in the form of a hall sensor or encoder that sends a signal back to the 'brain' to translate into a position. A great feature of servo motors is that they can be made very small and used in very tight places. 

Converting rotary motion from a servo actuator motor to linear motion

 converting rotary motion from a servo motor into linear motion

Because rotary servo actuators are so commonly used and relatively inexpensive to buy its has become a popular way for people to create linear motion. Through simple linkages and some form of linear guiding system it is possible to create linear motion. The stroke that results will be directly proportional to the lever arm length as seen in the picture above. The longer the arm from the servo actuator, the longer the stroke will be; however the downside is that the force will be reduced because the torque is proportional to the arm length. 

Below torque equation for rotary actuators

torque equation for rotary actuators

Electro-Mechanical Linear Actuators.

With Electric Linear Actuators, rotary motion from an AC or DC motor is converted to linear motion via a Leadscrew. A Leadscrew is basically a helical gear machined onto a Rod. As the Leadscrew rotates from to the motor, the nut (as shown in yellow below) slides up and down the leadscrew in a smooth linear motion, translating rotational movement into linear movement - Hence the name "Linear Actuator". This is very different to a solenoid actuator, which is still a form of Linear Actuator, but in the industry, engineers typically differentiate the two by calling them "Solenoid Actuators" and "Linear Actuators" even though both output linear motion.

linear actuator a type of actuator

With Electric Linear Actuators, having different length Leadscrews gives you different stroke lengths. Turning the leadscrew faster or slower with the motor gives different linear speeds. The more force from the motor that can be applied to the leadscrew means more force is given to the nut that slides up and down the Leadscrew. The nut is attached to the Rod, and the Rod that is what you see and attach to the mounting bracket in order to create that linear motion.  The more torque that is able to be applied to the leadscrew, the more linear force will be available for the sliding Rod. 

There are different ways to create the torque in an actuator. Adding gear between the motor and the leadscrew is the most common method; the higher the gear ratio, the more force is created. There is a trade-off: higher forces mean lower speed, conversely, higher speed means lower force. Additional speed for a given force would require a larger input motor, which is physically bigger and draws more current to function; both the size and the power make it more expensive.

Electric Linear Actuators

An electric actuator is a device that converts the rotational motion of a motor into linear motion, or takes electrical current to create an electro-magnetic field and uses magnetism to force a metal object away from its magnetic field. While these types are very different, they share the same name and both provide actuation.  This means they all provide both push and pull movements in either a linear or rotational movement. 

For a more detailed overview on how an Electric Linear Actuator works, we created this article "Inside a Linear Actuator - How an Actuator works"

If you are looking to purchase an electric linear actuator we have created an article called “Don’t by a Linear Actuator until you read these 5-steps” this can help you avoid some common problem before spending any money.

Micro Linear Actuators

micro actuators

 Micro Actuators or Mini Linear Actuators are used in applications where space is limited or the required stroke of the actuator is small. Perhaps you need to move something tiny a very short distance, a Micro Linear Actuator would be ideal for such an application.  Typically Micro Actuators strokes are 10mm to 100mm and are very compact in size.  One of the downsides of a Micro Actuator is that forces tend to be a lot lower due to the small motors built into them.

Lets summarize: What is an Actuator?

Actuators comes in many different types, from rotary to linear, hydraulic and pneumatic, solenoid and electro-mechanical. Each type has an ideal application. Large industrial rotary actuators that are hydraulically driven are great for opening huge oil-pipe valves, and micro actuators can be powered by small 12v power sources with great accuracy and precision for robotics and small applications.

Firgelli brand actuators are specially designed and produced with high-quality materials to give you the perfect balance of power, control, and price to build your automation systems.

electro mechanical linear actuators

 

 

Need Help Finding the Right Actuator?

We precision engineer and manufacture our products so you get direct manufacturers pricing. We offer same day shipping and knowledgeable customer support. Try using our Actuator Calculator to get help picking the right actuator for your application.